Another must see historical gem, hidden away behind Gilnockie Tower. An old limestone quarry lies immediately to the North of Gilnockie Tower, in a field which has been cultivated as grazing land.
The lime quarry and attendant production unit is an interesting early development relating to the production of lime and this kiln is known as a ‘flare kiln.’
The lime works was in operation by the end of the 18th century, and continued in use throughout the following century, but, by 1900, it had fallen out of use.
South Riddings Viaduct, or Tarrasfoot Viaduct was built around 1862 is approximately 500’ long, curved 9-span skew railway viaduct over Liddel Water as well as the Anglo Scottish Border and was closed to rail traffic during 1967. So the north side of the viaduct is in Scotland and the south side of the viaduct is in England.
The Riddings Viaduct was an integral part of the Langholm Branch line of the Border Union Railway. The viaduct is a listed building in both Scotland and England.
Canonbie Station was open from 1862 until 1964. Traces of the station and the Border Union Railway (later North British) can still be seen at Rowanburn. The line was a part of the seven mile Langholm branch railway line linking in with the Waverley line that joined Edinburgh and Carlisle. The line was closed to passengers during 1964 and freight during 1967.